Discover

The Campo Santo

Campo Santo
Campo Santo
Les concerts au Campo Santo
Les concerts au Campo Santo
Les concerts au Campo Santo
Les concerts au Campo Santo
The Campo Santo is 15 minutes from the Qualys-Hotel Mas des Arcades Perpignan center.

The funerary Saint Jean de Perpignan was carried out early in the fourteenth century. The funeral cloister of Saint John is the largest and oldest example of funerary cloister preserved in France. It is listed as a historic monument since June 30, 1910.

This building was built at the initiative of the abbot Guillaume Jorda between 1300 and 1330. The current building consists of four galleries around 54 meters long each and houses on three sides a series of crypts (burial niche flat bottom) carved in marble limestone from Baixas. The four galleries of the cloister were originally covered with a wooden lean-supported by carved columns with capitals. Each enfeu with pure Gothic style, is marked with shields of arms of the rich and noble families of the Catalan bourgeoisie. A central ossuary is dug in 1321 for the burial of the less fortunate.

After the French Revolution, the building, in a worrying state of health, is abandoned and recovered by the Army as a warehouse and stable. In 1825, we built a new building within the enclosure of the old cemetery for the construction of a large diocesan seminary. This new construction causes the demolition of the western gallery and disassembly of skylights with the exception of the north.
Reviews &
Testimonials
Qualitelis
840, Avenue d'Espagne - 66000 Perpignan (France)
Tel : +33(0)4 68 85 11 11 - Fax : +33 (0)4 68 85 21 41
Click here to contact us by mail
Société Européenne d'Hôtellerie : INTER-HOTEL - QUALYS-HOTEL - P'tit Dej-HOTEL - Relais du Silence